Makeup · Reviews

ELF Liquid Matte Lipstick in Blackout: A Review

On my hunt to find a good black lipstick, I found this on ELF.com for $5. I decided what the heck, it’s five bucks, how bad could it be? Apparently, very bad. After wearing this for ten minutes, my lips were absolutely P A R C H E D. I am not someone with dry lips, unless it’s in the dead of winter, and even then some vaseline will fix them right up. The lip took a lot of layers to get an opaque layer, and it oddly didn’t settle into my lip cracks so when I smiled you could see little lines where the color wasn’t. I would have been nice if I could have dealt with the dryness. I don’t know if the other colors in this line are like this, I won’t be buying this formula again.

The first swatch is the formula layered and the second is a single swipe.

Leave a comment