Mental Health

Depression and Happiness: The Grade

I was enjoying my time being with Happiness. Depression was locked up and didn’t see me often.

But then, I got a bad grade on my math test. This was Depression’s chance to esacpe, when I was at my lowest.

I’m back, Depression told me.
“Hello, Depression,” I said.
I see you got a bad grade on that math test. Wow.
“It isn’t that bad, maybe I can retake the test.”
Why bother, you’re just going to fail again. You’ll never be able to succeed in life, maybe you should just kill yourself. It will make your parent’s life so much easier. And your friends, they wouldn’t have to deal with all your drama anymore. Plus, your boss can hire a much better employee in your place. What do you do successfully?
“I….. I don’t know, Depression. I guess I do fail at everything… maybe I should kill myself.”

At this moment, I heard some muffling noises coming from behind Depression. I saw that it was choking out Happiness.

Don’t listen to Depression! You are good enough! You do tons of things well! People would miss you!

“You know what, I think you’re right Happiness. I am good enough. This is one test, and it’s not the end of the world. Depression, get back in your cage!”

~FIN~

Leave a comment